2021 POLLS: Muzanira, Byomuhangi win FDC’s Rukungiri primaries

A collage photo of FDC's Betty Bamukwatsa Muzanira and Mr. Martin Byomuhangi

RUKUNGIRI – MS. Betty Bamukwatsa Muzanira and Mr. Martin Byomuhangi have been declared winners of Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) primaries for party flag in Rukungiri for the positions of Woman MP and District Chairman LC 5 respectively.

The incumbent district woman MP Muzanira defeated three others including Ms. Winnie Babihuga, Ms. Phyllis Ariho, and Ms. Annet Kadoth Namara to retain the FDC flag.

On the other hand, Byomuhangi defeated Mr. Muhamya Davis and Tayebwa Emmanuel to win the flag of Chairperson LC 5.

The “free and fair elections” have taken place in Rukungiri Municipal Stadium

Muzanira was in June 2018 declared winner of the Rukungiri District Woman Member of Parliament seat by-election.

In the hotly-contested race, punctuated by heavy security deployment during the voting, the Oppositions’ Muzanira polled 50,611 votes against NRM’s Winifred Matsiko who managed 46,379 votes.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


You may like

Hot Videos
In the news
Load More